IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Catch the thread

Yes, this has to be the most boring photo ever, but the story is good.

My wife was hoovering the hallway carpet the other day and the hoover caught on a flaw in the carpet. Seconds later, the carpet thread was tightly wound up inside the machine. You can see the damage for yourself.

This carpet is less than a year old and was professionally fitted. I told her we had some spare carpet up in the loft ... all we needed was some double sided carpet tape and a sharp carpet knife to mend it.

I couldn't find my carpet tape. It's somewhere in that thing I call my tool shed.

I spoke with the salesman at Carpetwright. The chap said they sold it in 25m lengths at £12.00 a roll.

No thanks .... I only needed 1 m or so.

"Try Dunelm, across the car park"

I did ... they did not sell any (why should they)? The three ladies at Dunelm all agreed that the salesman was a bit stingy and had they been asked, they would have given me a bit of tape for free.

Back I went ...

The killer question ....

"Is this covered under the warranty?"

"Um ..... you'd need to speak to the Manager about that"

So I did ....

Says I .... "You guys fitted the carpet. The carpet had a flaw in it. I am very reluctant to buy 25m of carpet tape. Surely this is covered under the warranty?"

"We could send a guy out to have a look"

"Or (says I), you could maybe spare 1m of tape and I'll fix it myself"

"Ok ... you've twisted my arm ... how much do you want?"

It's in their best interest, isn't it?

Dunelm 1 Carpetwright 0

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.