Gifts of Grace

By grace

Amenity

LOSS of amenity.

Everyone I know walks the seafront here. A pleasure I had taken for granted. Since the Spring 'improvements' have been underway. A half mile stretch of the seafront has been inaccessible. I have tried to blip it before and again today.

The noise, the busyness, the unpredictable movements of workmen, heavy machinery. diverted pedestrians and traffic has made it a kind of hell that I've found hard to capture. I walked the half mile again today and found seven shops closed or closing down. Truly we do not know what we've got till it's gone.

It may be lovely again come next Spring, there is talk of marble paving, bulbs will be planted. I miss walking the front, I miss the familiar trance of walking in peace and beauty in all weathers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.