EverydayAdventure

By emma818

Chimney Pond, Mt. Katahdin

Got up insanely early to climb Mt. Katahdin, the highest peak in Maine, this morning. What started out as a clear, calm day with a prediction for scattered showers turned into rain, fog, and high winds on the summit, but we made it!

The camera stayed in my bag for most of the time, but a break at Chimney Pond on the way down gave me a chance to get a few shots.

All in all, a great day of hiking. We'll have to go back in the fall to hike across the Knife's Edge and watch people finish their Appalachian Trail through hikes.

The Appalachian Trail (AT) runs 2100+ miles from Katahdin in Maine to Springer Mountain, GA. It takes 4-6 months to hike, and part of me has always wanted to do it. In high school, I planned to take a year off before college and through-hike it, but I never did. Maybe it'll happen eventually, but I'd love to sit at the summit of Katahdin on a nice day in late summer/early fall when the northbound hikers are finishing and watch the joy and exhaustion on their faces as they finish their journeys.


Rejected blip for today: Stream Crossing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.