Panning at Exhibition Park

My husband decided to do a park run this morning and as I'm injured I had to be the spectator this time (which I was a bit grumpy about!). It's a 5km event held every saturday morning hosted by volunteers and it was the first one that we've been to and we were really impressed so hopefully when I'm fit and next in the UK I'll be able to do run! Hubby had a great run, considering he doesn't really enjoy running and therefore doesn't, erm, train much to my disapproval!
I decided to take the opportunity to try a new skill - panning where the subject is in focus but the background is blurred. I took loads of photos as it's really quite a tricky technique and was quite pleased with some of the photos but most have had to be deleted. I like the one above because I managed to get two runners in the frame without them being too out of focus and I like the blurred colours of the funfair behind them. I have no idea who they are but you're invited to send in any of your photos of the event, so I may well do.
I was all poised to get some snaps of hubby running but I completely missed him - in fact he had to call out to me when he went past. I felt a bit bad about that.

This afternoon involved taking the kids to the Centre for Life in Newcastle which is described as a science village and where there is a dinosaur exhibition at the moment. We enjoyed it even though the kids were too young for a lot of the activities and Dexter was truly terrified of the true to scale moving models of some of the dinosaurs, bless him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.