Going up .....

This morning the two bigger boys enjoyed a pony trek and then in the afternoon we all went to explore the Cairn Gorm mountain. The family went to the top by way of the funicular railway but as dogs weren't allowed on and it was too warm to leave them in the car, I decided to walk the steep path towards the summit. The path has been really well constructed, as you can see here, which is really good as it prevents walkers from potentially damaging the surrounding terrain by walking randomly. At times, looking up, it really felt as if I was taking a stairway to heaven however I took my time, ably assisted by my two doggy pals, and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The landscape unfurled beneath me and as I climbed higher the extent of the view expanded until I could see both Loch Morlich and Loch An'Eilean in the distance.. You could also see for miles looking northwards where the fencing delineating the ski runs cut across the landscape like jagged teeth caught in the sunshine, looking rather incongruous without the snow and skiiers. The descent was probably the trickiest bit as both dogs were eager to pull me down and I had to keep a tight lead on them and watch my footing. The boys were very impressed with my accomplishment and have vowed next year to climb to the top with me instead of taking the "train" - sounds like a plan to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.