Snapshots of rural France

By SuzB

Black Redstart Nest from a fallen branch

I went into the garden this day to start clearing the chaotic branches and make safe a couple of trees. Underneath my lime tree, sat this beautiful next, still on the branch it fell with. I know for a fact there was a family of Black Redstarts in this tree earlier in the year, and this is most likely their nest. It appears to made of a mixture of materials including horse hair (from horses in the neighbouring field) and an orange plastic bin tie. I am keeping it as a symbol of hope that the tree will be used as a nesting site in the next few years, despite the shocking state of the tree following the storm. You can see the tree before the storm here and then afterwards here. I am sure you will agree the nest remaining intact when the tree was smashed up was quite simply amazing!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.