Monsoon trek - day2

continued from here

Today's schedule is reportedly relaxed with about 15kms walk to the railway station, from where we catch our train home. We started walking though the jungle and the magical world of the western ghats started unfolding layer by layer. We crossed multiple streams, one after the other, each one more beautiful than the previous one. Every turn of the jungle path brought new surprises for us. At one point, I could see streams of waterfalls on the hills at a distance. The hill was pretty high and the stream leaped off its edge, with a dream of hitting the ground one day. But nature had some other plans. Suddenly a strong gust of wind blew, blowing away the cascade of water. Amazed, we were looking at a "flying waterfall" at a distant hill! I have never seen or even imagined such a thing in my life! We covered the distance today in a very relaxed manner, stopping at every opportunity, peeping off every other edge, crossing streams, sometimes just following them. Nobody seemed to be in a hurry, nobody for even a single moment was thinking of getting back home. But like all good things in life, even this had to come to an end.

Traveling without the camera was not a very bad idea. I feel that sometimes with the camera, we tend to miss to see and feel few small things around us. Probably sometimes, we try to see much more than what's there. In this trip, photography was not the most important thing on my mind. I just wanted to be one with the ghats, with the rains, with mud and with the greens. With my camera with me, most of the time I would have been worrying about it getting wet or how/where/what to click. I think my cellphone camera just did fine on this trip. The photos are not great but I guess that's okay. That's a bargain I am ready to take.

More pictures from the trip shared - here

all the pics are straight out of the cellphone. no processing done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.