Kolachi Karachi

By Marylou

Simple joys

I had a small moment of indecision about today's blip. You see today is Independence Day in Pakistan (India will celebrate theirs tomorrow) and I thought I should do something related to that - I had this picture in mind of the cookies I made last night. But when I saw this tiny martin sitting on my mum's rubber plant, I decided this was it! It looked so effortlessly charming just going about its business, unconcerned with the rest of the world.

Since it is a holiday, I had my friend Michael over for morning coffee. He's just returned from his annual holiday in the UK and it was really nice to chat with him about his travels. Michael and I (along with another guy from church) run the youth group, besides which he and I share a love for cross stitch (he's the only man I know who enjoys cross stitch), history, Elizabeth I and baking so we get along really well. Michael did lots of baking related shopping for me at Lakeland in Windermere so I have lots of new toys to play with now; he also brought back my long overdue Mother's Day gift to my mum... an ice cream maker. I couldn't find a fully automatic one here so I got her this one instead. She's very pleased and really excited about using it.

It's nice to have a day off and not much to do for a change. I was planning to work on the script but I'm a bit under the weather with the flu so I am just going to relax for the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.