An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Relaxing in the Cloisters...

Wanting to do street shots this morning , I was naturally drawn to the busyness of the Cathedral (Salisbury) and hoping to get impromptu shots of tourists aghast and gazing at the sights...

I pretty much failed and my refusal to just stick on a really long lens and snap from afar lead me to only take the Tamron 17-50mm. The long end is not really long enough, without being right on top of one's subjects. In future, the new (to me) Nikkor 16-85mm should have that extra reach that I need.

However this lady was stretched out, reading in the Cathedral's Cloisters and I just had to snap her. True, it is from behind but I like the 50mm's inclusion of the surroundings, with the uprights receding nicely. A black and white version worked well but I enjoyed the colours, her dress, the blues and greys of the surrounding stonework, though I toned down the yellows as the grass top left was fairly fluorescent!

Thanks, all, who hoisted my Golden Grasses blip up into the Spotlight yesterday. Many thanks, it's appreciated!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.