A Day Trip To The Seaside

Amongst the postcards in the collection I mentioned two days ago I found this photo. As a young boy, I remember trips to the seaside where photographers would patrol the promenade and offer to take your picture; being pre-polaroid, never mind digital, you would be able to collect the photo from their booth, normally near the pier, before you left at the end of the day. This looks like an early one of those to me(1920s, I guess as my Dad was born in 1911).

I suspect the lady in the middle is my paternal grandmother (sender of the card in Tuesday's blip) with my great-grandmother looking the archetypal severe matriarch. If I'm right, it might be my Dad's elder sister, my Auntie Flo, on her left (there's a remarkable resemblance to my sister as a teenager) while one of the young girls would be my Auntie Lou; don't know about the other one.

I like the top-hatted gentleman in a hurry and presumably people going out for a pleasure trip in the rowing boats behind.

A damp day today, swimming this morning, a lesson in strimming from my friend Tony (some heavy duty gardening planned for the weekend) and a trip to the doctors for some jabs - only 3 weeks tomorrow until our next trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.