Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

View from the ferry terminal

I have always loved this view from the ferry terminal in Ascona - hopping on a boat to the nearby islands is such a civilised way to travel, with the cool wind in your face and the spray of the water splashing against the boat.

Last night we had a disastrous supper - we cycled into the town and picked a restaurant from the many along the foreshore. Only when we sat down and had ordered drinks did we see the menu and realise it was outrageously expensive. Only one course, we told the boys, these prices are ridiculous. (Were we being mean?) When the food came, it reminded me of that era of nouvelle cuisine in the early 1990's, with the teeniest tiniest portions beautifully decorated on the plate. The boys just took one look and said...is this is? We had to laugh about it, two mouthfuls and we were done...and we then took the boys somewhere else for ice cream and cheese cake! Gavin says I am out of touch and many London restaurants still serve teeny, tiny portions - I guess I am used to cooking for ravenous boys, especially the teenagers who try and eat 3500 calories a day!

I only found out this afternoon that the AS results come out tomorrow morning - I thought they came out on Friday....guess Luke and I will be having a sleepless night tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.