Micspics

By Micspics

Memories are made of this.

Having revamped the bathroom, the urge to carry on cleaning burns bright.
I started to get rid of my collection of obsolete computers but before I sent them off to the recyclers I wanted to be sure there was no sensitive 'stuff' left on them.
Best way to be sure I figured is to remove the hard disks completely and then to physically destroy the data.
Didn't quite go all the way to total destruction but by stripping the HDs down to make coasters of the platters I reckon I've done enough!!
Three tower units done so far, two to go but they get more complex as I go from older to more recent machines. Been quite a learning experience as they say.
Picture shows a 3 platter HD with 6 read/ write heads just before removal of the platters.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.