Remember the early "Curries"?

I seem to use the phrase "When Ah waz a lad." quite a bit.

Hands up who remember when all curries were this colour?

When I was a callow youth, nobody in our neck o' the woods had seen anybody who's face was any colour but "white"/pink. We were intrigued by the newest chip-shop delicacy "The Curry". It mattered not one tittle or jot where it was purchased, I think somebody had cornered the market in a powdered curry mix, often these days seen in small local butchers. Now Penrith has at least 2 each of Indian, Chinese, Thai and maybe Italian (I know one of them changed  allegiance/nationality and is now one of the Thai establishments.)

I am by no means an expert in the field but by dint of Jiggery and a soupçon of Pokery I, accidentally, came up with one very nearly identical in flavour and very similar in appearance, save for the actual ingredients/meat.
And, possibly, with a slightly higher food:sauce ratio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.