horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

This Taiko is Barry

Or rather that's Barry playing Taiko. Barry took the first 7 weeks of our ten week course, Shonagh guiding us through the last three weeks. And tonight was our sharing night. The early class gave us two renditions of their piece, and we went through our solo-laden Mexican-themed (yes really) extravaganza a couple of times, interspersed with the pros showing us how it's really done.

Actually, I joined in on one piece we learned at the last course. 3 months since I've even heard it, and probably remembered about 75% of it, which I thought was good going.

Possibly the most fun night we've had so far - and I'd recommend you looking out Mugenkyo's show at the Fringe (12.30 every day at the George Square Theatre), or signing up to one of their ten week learning classes (WhiskyFoxtrot you know you want to, nudge nudge), or weekend taster sessions. This gets addictive. I'd debated skipping the next class as I'll miss the first three weeks, but to be honest I think I'd be more annoyed at not being able to play.

Shout

Popped to the Bon Vivant in Stockbridge afterwards to pick up Mel from a leaving dinner for someone at her work - now that's a nice bar I'll be back to when I'm not driving, and not downing pints of Coke to recover from drum playing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.