The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Voigtlander Vito l: Brass, steel and leather

This was my dad's first proper camera. I think he bought it whilst doing National Service in Germany. It was pointed at me and my siblings many a time as we grew up in the 60s and it all still works, though the case has given up the ghost and the lens isn't as clear as it used to be. Not bad seeing as it's getting on for 70 years old. I Can't see my G9 (which is just 20mm shorter and around the same height and depth) still being around and functioning in the 2060s.

I found this info:
The camera is neat and well-designed but we have no price information for this camera which, as a German item brought out during war-time, would have been unobtainable in Britain. We understand that occupation forces personnel could obtain a new camera on the black market for about 2,000 cigarettes in 1946. We believe that represents about a month's pay for a private soldier.

2000 coffin nails these days would be around £600 so were our brave lads underpaid or have ciggies come down in price?
I know he always wanted a Leica but that must have been well out of Reich... I mean reach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.