Sydney

By Sydney

I walked into my living room last night at 3 AM. I have a wall of windows that face north into two enormous Yews that I planted 27 years ago as small shrubs but which now provide tremendous privacy and let a bit of light through though they tower over my roof. As I was walking towards the windows, I became aware of an eerie red glow sort of blooming through the branches. What is that, I wondered? That's never been there before. There's nothing out there that looks like that. My dog was nervously pacing by my side and further enhancing the spookiness was the rocking of the two 80' Sequoia sempervirens that tap, tap, tap on the arbor when the wind blows. Nearby a dog began to howl which cinched it for me that I had unwittingly stumbled out of bed to discover some fresh portal to hell! And furthermore, Cerberus was aware I was up! Back under the covers I bolted, my dog beating me around the corner (he banks curves better than I do) toe bashed but proud of my time. In the morning I discovered that my neighbor has bought a new Chihuly-type chandelier, she was very proud and when she asked, I didn't tell her why I was limping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.