Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Carole King and James Taylor

I've always been a huge fan of both Carole King and James Taylor, but lately, I find myself especially drawn to their tunes, singing them in the shower, in the car, while trying to sleep, while trying to cook.

What I think I love most about King's songs is how well her lyrics zero in on those tender, vulnerable pressure points we all have, and open them up in the most simple and poetic way:

"Tonight with words unspoken,
you say that I'm the only one;
But will my heart be broken
when the night meets the morning sun?"


Richard and I have recently begun working up our version of James Taylor's Close Your Eyes. This might be one of the reasons I've got Taylor and King on my mind (to me, the two kind of go together) or maybe the fact that I've had them on my mind is what led me to suggest we sing this beautiful song?

Earlier this week, I read that James Taylor's musical life began playing the cello as a young boy, and he credits his cello playing as a big influence on his unique guitar style. Close Your Eyes still needs a lot of work, but when it's "ready", a YouTube link might be shared here. Maybe, just maybe.

Tonight, I enjoyed a Carole King session with my piano, a very dear friend, indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.