btraven

By btraven

Handheld accident...

This photo was an accident.

This time of year in Florida there are a lot of dramatic sunsets on the east coast. Storms form in the hot, wet center of the state and move towards the coasts. On the east coast the remnants of these storms provide a dramatically colored backdrop for the setting sun.

Although I'm sick of cliche sunset shots, at this time of year it's too damn hot and I'm too lazy to venture much out-of-doors to try to meet my self-imposed--and only rarely attained--quota of one decent shot a day. So, what the hell, shoot the sunset.

I snapped off 30 shots in the few minutes between too bright and too dark, but when I downloaded them, I saw that they were all the same boring, banal sunset crap everyone else has shot.

Except this one accident, where I'd set the camera wrong. So I toyed with it a little, tweaking it with curves and pushing the saturation and whatnot and I liked this result.

Just lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.