The Ferg

By fergie

Cured?

Firstly thanks for all the supportive and kind remarks fellow bippers made prior to my op. I went in Monday operated on Tuesday and home yesterday. I was in surgery for four hours, and although still attached to oxygen and a blood drain yesterday morning by 2pm I was sitting with my daughter in a coffee shop in Aberdeen waiting for a train home(albeit filled with high powered pain killers). I have been sent home to recover and it will take a few weeks till I am fully fit. Already I am feeling a major difference with the constant pain in my arm gone and my balance and coordination restored. The consultant neurosurgeon was clearly happy he felt that the damage was a bit worse than he could tell from the MRI's and now was the correct time to intervene. I have nothing but admiration for the team of doctors and staff who cared for me in my short stay. 15 years ago this would have been a life or death op , techniques have developed to such an extent that although still risky can be done so efficiently that I am now home hours after such a complex piece of surgery, it might be a few days before my blipping retuns to normal:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.