zebra

By zebra

Sunset over Lake Victoria

I was just asked how many times I was to report, "it is so beautiful here?" Perhaps this is the last time...it is so beautiful here!

From what I gather, this place was originally designed to bring development to this community. Noble, indeed. There were many ideas. To prevent deforestation, the community was given a certain kind of tree to plant. After 10 years they would bring the wood here and it would be turned into charcoal. Another wood was to be planted for its oily nut which would then be turned into bio-diesel. An enormous bio-gas system was designed to take the discarded parts of the oily nut and then run the enormous generator that would turn the firewood into charcoal. And demonstration farms and bee keeping and and and...

The new team here has a new approach and one which sounds so very promising...go slow, start small and do everything using a business model. I like it!

Tomorrow we will go home. I sure hope to come back...when it is more accessible. But I will sure miss this part of the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.