JanetH

By JanetH

Back to childhood

Mum and I set off for a day in Norwich this morning but I had a secret plan in mind too! We enjoyed a nice walk around the Cathedral and I had a particularly special time walking the labyrinth in the middle of the cloisters. After a light lunch in the cathedral refectory we decided not to spend more time in Norwich and we set off towards home ...

... but stopped at the Thursford Collection, a treat for Mum as part of an early birthday present. The mechanical organs were playing when we arrived and there was a lovely fairground feel. I had arranged that we should arrive in time for the 3pm show, hence our speedy departure from Norwich! A half hour show of Robert Wolfe playing the Whurlitzer and it was fantastic! I had also put in a request that he play the Dambusters March in memory of my Dad, which he did complete with video clip of the film.

As soon as the show was over the Fairground Gondola ride started so we both had a ride on that and then, straight afterwards on the Carousel. Mum did well climbing on to the middle lower horse. I wasn't about to ride a chicken so I ended up on the outside horse which was at its highest peak at a standstill! We both really enjoyed returning to childhood and riding Polly and James above, there was a lot of laughter! We just had to finish with a cream tea afterwards.

Big Adventure Day 71 - Norwich
Photos 81/9895

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.