Anniemay

By Anniemay

Calm

t hasn’t been a very calm day today. I spent most of it waiting for a call from British Gas which would send me dashing across town to let an engineer in to my son’s flat to complete an annual service on the heating system.

When the call came he was already at the flat instead of 20 minutes away as I had been promised. I managed to make it there in 10 and he was willing to wait for me so the service got carried out successfully.

On the way back home I took a detour down to an old water mill to try to get some blips of a lovely calm millpond and to regain my usually calm composure. On the way I came across this very calm looking herd of bullocks. I snapped away at them getting closer and closer and they remained calm. Just lazily flicking their tails or chewing the cud. There was a magpie trying to annoy them but they just ignored it. Suddenly one of the cows noticed I was there and must have alerted all the others.They stood up as one and started walking towards me. I’m not a country girl but I know that when cows start following you, running is the last thing you should do. I walk purposefully towards the cattle grid just as the cavalry arrives. A small truck with feed on the back. Suddenly there’s no contest. Girl with camera or tasty hay..........

I live to tell the tale!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.