Secret Path

As a teen me and my friends used this hidden path as a shortcut when cycling to the nearest public swimming pool in summer.
I doubt todays teens know it exists. Most of them use the mama taxi to get to the pool.

The path is very well hidden by high grasses and birches to both sides - you don't expect it in between. From outside it looks like some lined-up trees in a large wet meadow with the Glan river silently passing through.

The path starts with a wooden bridge crossing the Glan river. It is a very wet and low part of the Bruch. After rain it is not at all a good idea to try and cross it (I tried). And if you see hoof prints and horse droppings and the ground isn't dry the idea is even worse (I tried that, too).

And instead of Secret or Hidden Path you could call it Horsefly Alley.
(Just why can't the little beasts be satisfied with all the horses that come by? Don't they know why they are called horseflies?)

It was only the third time this summer I used the path. The first two times - see above.

20:00 CEST 23,8°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.