monochrome

By monochrome

When you're a stranger...

I took delivery of the 'When you're a stranger' B&W disposable camera no. 6 this morning - I had gotten a red card through the door yesterday from Royal Mail informing me that the package was to big to fit through the door, and that I'd have to collect it from the sorting office. As such, I swung past the sorting office this morning on the way to the train station (missing my train in the process).

I had already thought that seeing as we're in the middle of the Edinburgh festival, I'd head up to the High Street (which is full of strangers at this time of year) and see if I could find an interesting character to photograph. I'd walked from St Giles, down to Cockburn Street without spotting anyone I considered interesting enough (I thought photographing one of the performers would be a tad easy, and was adamant that I wanted my shot to be of one of the spectators), until on the way back up, I spotted a rather interesting looking guy at the Mercat Cross.

The guy was obviously a spectator, having no fliers to hand out to folk, nor advertising-type sandwich boards or placards, but he had on an 80's style shoulder length curly wig and fake moustache - just the sort of character I wanted to take a photo of. So, I approached him and asked him if I could take his photo - to which he replied yes, albeit it did sound a little inebriated... Just as I was about to take the photo, his friend - in an equally unconvincing blond wig (no moustache, and hitherto unspotted by yours truly) - came up to him and got in on the picture.

"Do you mind if we kiss?" I was asked.
"Erm, no, go for it" I replied.

It was a particularly staged kiss, I'll have to admit - I'm not convinced they were a couple, or even particularly that way inclined. I think, perhaps, they had both had a little tipple with their lunch. I gave them the Blipcard, and tried to explain a little about the project.

And so my contribution to the "When you're a stranger" is of two guys on Edinburgh's High Street, in unconvincing wigs and moustache, sharing an unconvincing kiss :) Ah well, it is the festival after all.

Now, who's next for the camera?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.