Lovely scrummy squidginess

I had another photo for today.
I've been titting around with a collection of photos of blue butterflies that I took earlier - I love blue butterflies. They're so perfect.

But as I was scrolling through the pics I realised that this made me smile more.

It is beautiful here. This is the view 5 minutes from our house and we get to see it every day. I always find it beautiful but when the light does nice things it highlights the curviness of North Devon. It's a special place. I feel it in my bones.
I was born far away in Hull and I spent the first 8 years of my life in the West Midlands. My dad came from the Birmingham area. But when I was 8, my older sister was 10 and my younger sister was 4, our parents brought us back to Mum's family home in North Devon where she felt she belonged. I feel I belong here too. I'm never happier than when I'm up to my wrists in North Devon mud.

It's funny how we think we need to strive for other things but I know now I want nothing but this. It's taken a while but I've finally found peace.

That silver line on the horizon is the sea in Croyde - the village where our shop is. Richard wasn't born here either, but his family brought him here when he was 11 and he learnt to surf and then became the British champion in 1984. I don't think he could imagine living anywhere else either.

We're often too busy or stressed to simplify things enough to appreciate what we have, but we really should because life is short and ours is blessed by a truly beautiful setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.