CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

My recce with Keith

Keith popped over to our house at lunchtime as arranged and we had a chat about a job coming up next week. I'd agreed to help as his assistant and before we set off to do a recce in Swindon, we had a quick play with the new equipment he had just purchased.

Some weeks ago we attended a course about using off-camera flash on location, which we had both found very helpful as well as challenging. I had a chance to observe and use a lot of accessory equipment as well as sophisticated radio transmitters and receivers controlling multiple flash units. So now Keith has bought some we needed to practice.

We eventually set off mid-afternoon and were pleased to find that we were not only expected but made welcome at the venue where the event will happen next week. We had time to set up and try out a number of variations using the gear without interruption. Keith will be using his camera although I might add some second camera shots on the day if I have time and the opportunity. I found it really useful to be able to discuss how to work with the lighting conditions both internally and externally.

As we were packing up and preparing to leave, Keith's phone rang, and it quickly became clear it was a cold call sales pitch. I picked up my camera while he tried to fend off the intruder, and I was amazed how Keith didn't become annoyed and rude, unlike how I might have responded to this sort of pestering. But it did give me time to take a few snaps in this room. I don't think Keith will mind me blipping him, as it was he who introduced me to Blip three years ago now ...... and we are still friends!

ps
I couldn't help but notice the carpet pattern! If you were to look at it in the reverse direction you might think you are seeing a host of angels gathered there. Then again your imagination might see something completely different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.