Cully

By Cully

Wrapping paper addict

Today I have come to realise that I am a wrapping paper addict. I buy a lot of wrapping paper. I probably have thirty rolls under my bed and a drawer full of the folded variety.

When I was a student and lived at home with my parents my mum decided to change the Christmas decorations for the tree. That year I searched high and low to find wrapping paper that would 'work' with the new tree finally going for a Waitrose paper, purchased with my student loan (which I am still paying off nine years on). Also that year I only bought presents that were square or oblong as they looked better under the tree. I also purchased a gift for myself to celebrate being single and not having to splash out on a bloke, the present was a hair dryer thus being in an appropriately square box.

Anyway, I got thinking about this today when I started to wrap a friends little boys birthday present and realised I had no appropriate boy paper left. So I had to use the remaining Mr Men paper pictured and it nearly killed me. I really have a problem with using the last bit of paper when I really like it. When the present leaves your hands you aren't going to see it ever again. The receiver will rip it up with no regard to your love for the paper and it will be in the bin before you can say 'ungrateful git'. I am gutted. I was the same with the spongebob square pants paper, it took me about two years to part with all of that.

On a more positive note; for the first time I am under my calorie limit on myfitnesspal. Hallelujah!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.