Charlie17

By Charlie17

Nigella.

This beautiful flower is called Nigella.
( Some people might use this to make a silly comment about Ms Lawson, but not me!
I can't think of one!)
However, the real interest in this shot is the little black beetle like thing in the top right.
This is the extremely rare Pollen Beetle.
Until this year, I believe it has never been seen in this country; okay, my garden then.
However, this morning, I counted 267,228 and this was only on the flowers.
They are everywhere, plants, leaves, washing etc, etc

"In spring and summer, pollen beetles fly in from nearby oilseed rape crops to gather in open flowers where they feed on ripe pollen. Mostly, the beetles do little harm although occasionally they may nibble into unopened flower buds and damage the developing flowers of cauliflowers."

Less of a pest than magpie moth caterpillars then!! See here.

" I wonder what kind of bird Humpty-Dumpty would have hatched out to, had he lived?" Harry Hill.



Sent from my iPad

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.