Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

I am longing to be with you, and by the sea ...

The castle is on the very edge of a terrible precipice. A stone falling from the window would fall a thousand feet without touching anything!
But I am not in heart to describe beauty, for when I had seen the view I explored further; doors, doors, doors everywhere, and all locked and bolted. In no place save from the windows in the castle walls is there an available exit.
The castle is a veritable prison, and I am a prisoner!


Dracula. Bram Stoker. 1897.

It is said that Bram Stoker was inspired to write his novel Dracula after visiting Slains Castle whilst holidaying at the Kilmarnock Arms Hotel in nearby Cruden Bay, to the North of Newburgh 0n Ythan. Now where did I put that garlic and stake?

The bigger it is the more terrifying it becomes!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.