C-17 Cargo Bay and Flight Deck

Kathy and I will fly "Space-A" (space available) on a military flight for the first time.

The flight from McChord AFB to McGuire AFB is to be on a C-17 cargo plane.

We were fortunate to be included in the group that received seat assignments.

We have thought about flying on one of these planes for over twenty years and are excited beyond words to have, at long last, been able to scratch this itch.

Our ride in this behemoth aircraft certainly did not disappoint.

The little boy in me was in ecstasy as we boarded the plane, then taxied down the runway apron, and finally took off.

Arriving at our cruising altitude, we were allowed to get out of our seats and camp out in the spacious cargo bay.

The military families travelling with children spread out blankets on which to play games, picnic and snooze.

It was not exactly what I’d anticipated, however Kathy and I were happy to follow suit and spread out the fleece blankets we’d brought along in case the cargo bay was chilly (it was not).

When I asked if I could peek into the flight deck, the loadmaster told me to go on up the stairs and that I’d be welcome to look around.

Sure enough one of the relief pilots on the flight deck told me to get in the empty seat and stay as long as I wished.

How cool is that!

Five hours later we touched down gently at McGuire AFB.

Certainly a most awesome start for a visit with Kathy’s Mom and my brother’s family.

Full Frame:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.