Merritt Parkway Rest Area Clock

Our ride back to New Jersey from Connecticut involved traveling the length of the Merritt Parkway.

An historic road and scenic by-way, the Merritt Parkway has been a part of my life from my very first trips in a car.

The rest areas were a new concept in 1938 when the road was built; the clock on the roof always reminds me of a fireplace mantle clock.  This clock is atop the New Canaan Rest Area westbound side.

These rest areas are quite stylish and presently are being renovated.

As a child the Merritt was “the super-highway” for me; now it is a quaint scenic by-way that charms me with nostalgic memories.

Still it provided the best route for us to follow on our return to McGuire Air Force Base.

An excellent road to travel should you be in Connecticut.

Full frame:

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.