Suzy's Scenes

By suzyscenes

Monarch Handshake

I had a glorious day today with my oldest grandaughter. We went out to a nice breakfast, went to some garage sales, and then I took her to the Butterfly Pavilion that is close to Elkton. I was in awe in that place. They have an area that is enclosed with screen, and there are many shrubs and flowers in there and every year, they raise Monarch butterflies for the months of July & August. They let them all loose on Labor Day.

It is a sight that I could only imagine. There must have been 1,000 butterflies in that room, and they are so used to people that they even try to land on you. It is very easy to take photos. There were also chrysalis hanging on the sides of the screen, and the butterflies were hatching while we were there. It was quite an experience.

I can remember trying to capture a photo of a butterfly when I went on a camping trip a few years ago. We camped in a spot where there were quite a few butterflies flying around, but I chased butterflies for about 3 hours and never did manage a good shot.

I will definitely come back to this place again and again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.