will it go round in...

By simonzebu

Lucky escape

Many years ago I saw a programme about the dangers of super-heated liquids in microwaves.

Subsequently, I have always been careful about re-heating cups of tea or heating cartons of soup, always stirring at arm's length in case of potential explosions.

Last night however, I was making a coffee for C, having had a few drinks, and was not concentrating. I heated the milk in the mini-caffetière base ready for frothing with the plunger. Unfortunately, I had obviously hit the wrong buttons on the microwave and overheated the milk considerably.

When the plunger touched the base there was an explosion of boiling milk that scalded my hand, hit the cupboard doors above, made a vast mess on the worktop and floor, and, I noticed afterwards had left its imprint on both lenses of my glasses, which I just happened to be wearing at the time..

Be warned.

Please excuse the crude nature of this re-creation artist's impression of the event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.