One moment please

By BikeShopNick

Classic Car Saturday: Uncle Tony's Rover P6 3500

The police used these in the 1970s as they claimed that nothing could get away from them.

This was the first car that I ever broke the 100mph barrier in the mid '70s as a young passenger on the A1 near Borehamwood in Hertfordshire. It belonged to my Uncle 'Bones' Tony.

Don't worry. Uncle 'Bones' Tony has no connection to the mafia, although he is a chartered accountant so you never know....

As a bit of a YUPPIE before the word was even invented, he always drove high performance cars including Opal Mantas, Jags, Beemers and this V8 muscular Rover 3500.

I have through a process if nature and nurture inherited some of his characteristics which include a love of speed and decent fast cars even though I seem to drive around like a sleepy pensioner these days.

However, over and above my introduction to speed, I look up to my Uncle Tony as a principled well meaning lovely man who has been and is really super supportive when the chips are down.

So... today's Blip is a fond tribute and thank you to this wonderful man with a crushing hand shake, but that's another story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.