CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

Royal Memories

This is an old souvenir tin to celebrate the coronation of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. It was printed in England and was put out a year later by OXO Limited Montreal. I was intrigued by the detailed description on the inside of the lid; you can view it here. I wondered how the information deemed important enough to include was selected.

When I chose this photo for the challenge I was reminded of a very exciting experience in 1960. Our family drove to Calgary and waited with thousands of others to watch the Queen and Prince Philip drive by. Even though I was only 10 years old, I remember the anticipation and then just a little bit of disappointment that the moment was so short-lived. The good part was my dad always carrying a camera to document the event! Sometimes he would let me take pictures with his camera and I would eagerly await getting them developed. I suspect he was using his Brownie camera for this photo. It is also old, and still in the family. I have this photo in an old album that I made when I was very young, a treasure for me these days as I get older.

I have quite a collection of old tins, but have stopped adding to it, and am instead using them to store other assorted old keepsake items.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.