SUMO

By SUMO

WELCOME TO ABUJA....as an expatriate!!

After a smooth flight from Paris to Abuja, and a relatively smooth transition through immigration with my STR documents (my reply ‘for what?’ to the question ‘…and what have you brought for me?’ caused a storm with the immigration officials), I waited for my 2 enormous bags by the luggage conveyor. My phone rang and it was Dad, who is currently living in Lagos and flying to Abuja every weekend to see Sabine who is still living and working here. They leave for Vienna on September 8th, so it is a comfort to know that they are here whilst I settle into Nigeria. I answered the phone and he asked me to turn around…it was impossible to co-ordinate our arrival into Abuja at the same time, but as luck had it, there he was, waving his arms behind a glass separation. Moments later, bags in tow, we exited the airport to be met by my new boss, Kimberley. Dad left with his driver and I left with Kimberley, who came to dinner with her husband. We had a lovely meal, but by 9pm I was exhausted and went to my room. Tiredness encouraged anxiety and the reality of the situation became very overwhelming. James’ mum, Annie, gave me this beautiful rhino when I left Kenya last week, which I immediately imagined sitting on my desk in Nigeria. I did not see it becoming a comforting cuddle on my first night, but that is exactly what it was. I wailed into my pillow for 10 minutes before giving in and passing out.

Today has been wonderful. Woke up early and a great friend of Dad’s, Phaethon, arrived from Lagos for the weekend. The four of us sat down to a delicious brunch before heading out for a ‘tour’ of the Abuja ring road and a visit to Shoprite. The sky is heavy and grey and the atmosphere is hot and humid – it is Aberdeen in a microwave. It is as I expected - a busy, African city with modern twists here and there and it will take some getting used to.

This afternoon, Kimberley took Dad and I to what will be my HOME! A huge weight was lifted off my shoulders, as since accepting the position I have been in the dark as to what my apartment would look like and who I would live with for the next two years. The apartment is clean and spacious with tiled floors, a welcoming shared living room and a large kitchen. My room is large and bright with an en-suite bathroom and a fully functioning AC. I will be able to nest in this bedroom in no time. My flatmate, Lee, was hugely welcoming, energetic and bubbly and I think we will really enjoy living together. I will move in next weekend and I am now very relieved to know that I will be happy to return to my own space after a long day at school.

We came back to Dad and Sabine’s and Dad cooked up 4 cocktails and they toasted and welcomed me to Abuja – as an expat! A quiet evening ahead with calmed nerves and excitement for what comes next.

I leave with something Phaethon said today. When his mother left Namibia she told him, ‘I cried when I arrived, and I cried when I left’. I have a feeling that this will be very true for me in Abuja.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.