Here goes......

By Lindiloo

Mandala

Had a lovely day trip to Aberdeen today. My other half was going to the football with my nephew so I decided to tag along with my niece. This had the added advantage of giving my sister and brother in law a rare child free day, it's my sister's birthday so allowed them to do something nice.

Emma and I did a got of shopping, had some lunch and went round the Aberdeen Art Gallery where there was an excellent Peploe/Scottish Colourists exhibition on. I studied at Grays School of Art and it's been many years since I visited this gallery, I was possibly an Art student the last time. I was very impressed to see that they had acquired a Damien Hirst, a Tracey Emin, a Boyle Family, a Gilbert and George and an Alison Watt since the last time I was there, very impressive for a gallery of this size!

We bought 2 mandalas to entertain us on the drive home and these are a few shots of Emma creating various shapes with one of them. The mandala has been around for 2500 years and was used by Buddhist monks during meditation as they aid concentration. After using them for 2 hours solid, we mean see what they mean.

A lovely day out, now chilling with a glass of wine and Harry Potter on the TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.