Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Walking in the Rain

It was my own fault really...

I got up late, and by the time I had had a shower and breakfast, checked the forecast (rain due soon) and browsed Amazon it was 10:30 and time for coffee. Once in Tescos, and a leisurely coffee and read of the paper later, I dithered over whether or not to upgrade my mobile to a smartphone - decision made, it took a while to complete the contract and pay over the initial fee. Next the weekly shop ... could I spend enoough to get £9 off my bill? No problem ... in fact with all the vouchers I ended up with over £20 off!

By now time was marching toward 2pm, so I headed to one of my favourite places for a picnic lunch and a few photos: Shepherds Meadow in the Blackwater Valley. No sooner had I sat down on a bench overlooking the river when the rain started :(

Fortunately it wasn't too heavy, and Isettled down under a tree for my lunch in the relative dry. On the way back to the car, another tree provided sufficient cover for a few photos, and while watching the ducks I noticed this large umbrella seeming to float through the long grass like a boat. Eventually a dog walker appeared under the umbrella and provided a focal point for my shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.