Waka Kume

On my run this morning I went down to the waterfront hoping to catch some light and shapes to show the morning. There was much cloud about and the light was softer than usual for sunrise and immediately after, which is when this picture was taken. I liked this the best of my photos from this morning.

Not long before coming to the computer to post this, I did see the sun falling towards the horizon, blinding anyone foolish enough to look directly at it. The morning clouds had gone, leaving just narrow bands close to the horizon, and scattered higher clouds. I was patient, and as the sun became increasingly obscured by cloud and the Waitakere Range, I was able to get a photo which can be seen on my blipfolio.

Good as is that one, less than two weeks ago was another sunset. AND this was on my run.

Waka Kume (pronounced wah kah coo meh) is one of the Ports of Auckland tug boats. Its sister boat (the Waipapa) can be seen behind . They are berthed at the Admiralty Steps. Waka means boat. Kume is a verb meaning to pull or to drag.

The Waka Kume is about 12 years old, and is capable of exerting a pull of 50 tonnes, and is also highly manoeuvrable.

I did notice that the boat between Waka Kume and Waipapa was a customs boat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.