Don't Worry-I'm a Pro

By AllenFreeman

Breakfast Time

I get up for a second and next thing I know I'm off to a breakfast dive that is part of a Texaco, with my dad and his pal Dwayne. (Dad is on the left above.) Hillbilly's. All the truck driving, cap wearing dudes hang out here. We sit next to the only people smoking in a public place I've seen since it became agianst the law to do so a few years back. Turns out this place allows it. You have to be over 18 to go in because of it. So this young couple are doing all the smoking right near us. First time I've had to eat and smell cigarettes in like 10 years or something. Not my idea of the best eating enviornment. But I'm exploring. The food arrives and it is all covered in pepper. I never use the stuff. The food is still very good. I get the Hillbilly breakfast. It consists of Peppered scrambled eggs, peppered hashbrown slab, peppered gravy and biscuits. Two pieces of toast, and 2 patties of sausage. I eat it all. (I'd worked out for the first time in 3 months at the gym the night before swimming 10 laps in an olympic pool, and could hardly walk, but it makes me hungry.) I grab an orange juice out of the cooler (just like a 7-11) and find out you don't pay till you leave.

The meal for all of us is $13.00. Total. Now I see why everyone goes here.

Then we head over to Mr. Brumley's. He is just a little older than my dad but they all call him that. Duwayne, dad's friend on the right in this shot did call Mr. Brumley "Jim". Mr. Brumley lives out on a farm and used to have like 40 goats. I'd go and take shots of the goats. He sold them all as he can't get around like he used to and couldn't take care of them any more. It was sure more fun to go and see them all running around. Now they all just sit and talk about how Mr. Brumley got rooked on getting his driveway tarred over. They told him they'd do the full driveway for $1000. After they did just a small part of it, they said it was already $1300 worth. He told them to stop and paid them the $1300 and told them to hit the road. So he has just the start of the drive all paved over. That gave them something to talk about for 2 hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.