A journey through Zogland

By Zog

Arria

I hadn't taken any photos of Arria for some time, so I thought that I'd try out my new variable ND filter on her, hoping for some interesting cloud effects. I'd already been warned by my brother that it was a bit of a hit and a miss with these filters, but as mine was much more expensive than his (his only cost a tenner, mine was £12.50) I expected great things. He was right. Near maximum cut-off, there is a lot to be desired in image quality. However, I did manage to get about 10 stops reduction with only slight pola distortion, so worth the £12.50, and worth another go.

Best effect was when a couple of kids came to get their photo taken on the statue (which stands above the M80 at Cumbernauld) and they appeared as ghostly shadow images on the frame. Spooky considering the statue is situated beside the cemetery.

365/230

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.