Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Wild Blossom

The rain has gone from Blenheim...for the moment anyway. However there are big black clouds over the back of the Wither Hills and The Ned. It is probably still raining up in the headwaters of the Taylor River. The levels in the river show little signs of dropping. Earlier this morning I checked out the Crinoline Bridge that was in yesterday’s blip. The decking is a little more visible but the balloons are still there. They are a little deflated but still firmly attached to the bridge.
I drove up to the road into Meadowbank Station and parked up there. That way the dogs and I could walk across the bridge and access the true left bank. I wanted to see if there had been any flood damage to the banks along that stretch of the river. The flood waters had attacked some areas thus narrowing down some short stretches of track.
From time to time I came across a wild flowering fruit tree. I think they are all wild plum trees. The funny thing is that I have never seen them with fruit on them. But there again they are in fairly inconspicuous places. So this season I will make a note of exactly where they are growing and check them out for fruit. That is the hunter-gatherer in me!
Someone may be able to confirm or otherwise that the blossom in today’s blip are the flowers of a plum tree. We have cherry plum trees growing in our garden but the flowers are not exactly the same as the blossom I photographed today. I would appreciate some informed feedback please.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.