r a n d o m l a k e

By gddrew

Street Musician, Wilmington, North Carolina

Today was the first day we've had sun since I've been in Wilmington, so I took advantage of the late afternoon to go downtown and explore the area I used to haunt so many, many years ago.

So much has changed: what was once a seedy and kind of dangerous area has come alive with boutiques, specialty shops, great restaurants and pubs. The place is full activity and on this warm and humid evening people out in force at the cafes, walking along the river, watching a movie being made and just enjoying the evening.

As I was walking around soaking in the local color I heard a beautiful saxophone playing and thought that it was music being piped in at one of the bars or restaurants, then I looked across the street and saw this gentleman blowing the sax. I had to stop and listen for a few minutes, snap this and gratefully give the man a tip and thank him for a moment of magic.

I could have spent hours there, such a pleasant trip down memory lane. I don't get to come home very often but I was very grateful for this brief time today to show me how much my home is a part of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.