Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Poinsettia

Identification - euphorbia pulcherrima - poinsettia.

After spending about eight hours yesterday, researching plants that I have in my image bank, it was on my mind today to do plants, even though yesterday’s blip of one of the most flamboyant plants that I see here, kinda flopped from a blip response perspective. But, I am not going to let that influence me. If I want to do a plant then I will.


As photographers, we try to be creative with our images, with original and unusual perspectives, odd points of view and abstract macros. But, what I learned while trying to identify all my plants, is that artistic shots do not help in any way.

If you plan on researching your plant subject, you need a full-on shot of the bloom, a close-up of the stamen layout may be useful, but most importantly, a shot of a leaf. The bloom shot will get you close to an ID, but it is the leaf shot that will confirm the ID.

I pass this curious plant every day. I have even photographed it many times, as it is difficult to get the exposure right. The camera just does not seem to like reds and a significant amount of under exposure is required, otherwise the reds just wash out.

Yesterday’s research led me to poinsettia, an interesting plant, popular in North America as a Christmas decoration. The tiny flowers are stated as unassuming and do not attract pollinators, but from what I saw through my macro lens, is that the ants love them.

What I found was that a small pot like structure grows out of the side of the bud and the ants access the nectar through this pot. I didn’t find any mention of this in my research, but it seems important and unique to me. So, rather than give you the standard view showing the striking red leaves that grow around the bloom, I thought this shot of the ants feeding was far more interesting.

I did read about the flower structure and how it pollinates, but all those big words hurt my head and I refuse to cut and paste, as it would put you all to sleep. What I did learn is that the plant has evolved to attract humming birds, attracted by the fiery red leaves and feeding from the specifically designed pots. The flowers are odorless as birds do not have a sense of smell. There is a lot more to the plant, but I will leave it at that and possibly return in the future.

Dave

Update - my computer screen has gone pop, so don't know when I will be posting again, it could be quite some time unfortunately. I cannot do what I want to do from an internet cafe.

I will check in regularly to keep in touch.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.