FortyTwo

By 42

Training

I'm in training for my next Triathlon - the Haddington Sprint Triathlon on Sunday 1 September. I've been training pretty hard and I hope I beat my previous time. So, from now until then I'm going to blog about my training / progress.

To kick that off, here's my trusty old stopwatch (complete with no gizmo's) and my race report from my previous Triathlon in Galashiels in April ... apologies for those of you who don't want to read this, its more for a record for me than for you lot anyway :-)

<short version>

Galashiels Sprint Tri: 21 April 2013

Swim: 14.03

T1: 3.16

Bike: 51.53

T2: 2.08

Run: 27.42

Total time: 1:39.02

</short version>


= = = = Race Report = = = =

I took part in my first triathlon on Sunday 21st April - the Galashiels sprint, marking the start of the borders series.

I slept well the night before but was super nervous on the morning. The weather was blustery, quite a strong westerly wind and overcast with almost wintery showers.

I was there with a friend and we registered early. We set up for transition in the drizzle, still a bit unsure about what to wear on the ride, or when to get ready.

The first swimming heat started just after 10. I was in heat 4 and we didn't get into the pool until 11.20. Lots of hanging around, but once I was poolside the nerves settled and I was ready to go.

I'd registered with a swim time of 14 mins ... before I had started training. A touch ambitious, especially when I looked at the very serious people in my heat! But I managed a swim time of 14.03, which was fantastic.

About 5 or 6 people left in the pool as I ran out into the car park in the rain (in my tri-shorts, how weird is that). T1 was interesting and I need to practice it before I race again - 3.16 in transition. Decided to pull on a jacket!

The cycle started out with quite a climb out of Gala. I was most nervous of the ride, but actually I really enjoyed it and although there were a couple of climbs nothing as hard as the hills around Beecraigs where I had trained. I didn't see another soul on the ride other than the marshals. After about 4km the wind really hit, through Clovenfords, even having to push downhill with the rain/slrrt stinging my cheeks. Fortunately the route turned South along the river out of the wind. I was still expecting at least one more hill and held a little in reserve, so when I came down into Gala I was surprised. Cool! 51:53 for the ride, which was 5 mins quicker than in training.

2:08 in T2 and out for the run, which was two laps round a 2.5km track.

What I was not expecting was a cross country route across slippery grass, through the woods over roots and rocks, squelching through mud and marsh and up and down steep banks. Training on tarmac didn't prepare me, but short of having a tantrum I had to get on with it! The start of lap 2 as I passed the finish line was tough and really struggled through km 3 and 4. 27:42 for the run, which is as good as my training runs along the roads. Nothing left in the legs but felt great.

1:39:02 in total - delighted for my first tri. Would I do another? Definitely. Now just need to race for the club, although I'll be sticking to sprint distance for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.