AviLove

By avilover

Oreoscoptes montanus

The Sage Thrasher is the smallest of its kind, and the most uncharacteristic. Thrashers have long curved bills and inhabit a wide range of habitats, however this species sticks to sagebrush steppe and has a relatively unpronounced bill. It often runs along the ground as it hunts, sometimes sallying up to catch insects: another unique trait. These differences, along with its overall body shape, have prompted speculation that the Sage Thrasher may actually be more closely related to another group within the family Mimidae, the mockingbirds.

I woke before the sun this morning to bird South Tufa at first light. I wish I didn't have to leave the lake but I couldn't have to been happier with my last moments there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.