LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Politically Incorrect

This old advert appears on the platform of the Strathspey Railway at Broomhill along with one for Virol, both of which are part of my past.
In the days of yore and in the mists of time that constitute my youth, it was considered cool and completely acceptable to smoke. It seemed that nearly everyone did it, in the happy ignorance of nicotine's cancer inducing effects. And so there came a time when I thought that I
might appear more sophisticated if I dangled a ciggy from a languid hand. Thus I bought a packet of 10 Craven A and hid it in a bedside drawer. I tried one and decided that far from making me look mysterious and chic, it made me look ridiculous as I tried to inhale and blow smoke rings. The excercise did nothing for me and the packet remained nine tenths intact in the drawer, and although I know my mother must have found it, she never mentioned that she had. What happened to the nine remaining fags I don't remember, but I never did smoke again. My smoking friends have mostly given up the habit............or passed away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.