BryanImagining

By BryanImagining

I'm all right

They call it safety glass. It's made to shatter so it has no sharp edge to cut with.

WIthout warning, and for no reason we can discern, my rear window of my Ford Explorer imploded this morning while I was driving. The road was nearly deserted, and it was just before I got on the expressway. Incredibly loud, the glass shattered inward and I felt some hit the back of my head.

No injuries at all, just ramped up from the adrenalin. I spent 2 hours napping this afternoon and woke up just as out of it, but I'm better now after spending 2 hours vacuuming the car. I have a good tech already planning to replace the window. He says it's not unheard of for the hinges to create enough torque over time to pop the window.

As I vacuumed I thought that it may be quite a while before I have another opportunity to blip safety glass...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.