In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

San Diego Alligator Lizard

which is the southernmost sub species of three from the Southern Alligator Lizard species. It's range also goes down into Baja California in Mexico.
The other two subspecies overlap the territory of the Northern Alligator Lizard and can be found as far north as Oregon.
I vacuumed this little critter up by accident in my office, which is being renovated. He was in a pile of debris under the black plastic tarps. I saw him a split second before he was sucked into the vacuum - he gave me such a fright!
I was sure he had been mortally damaged in the process, but when I opened the canister top, he was not only alive, but there was no visible damage to his limbs and he hadn't shed his tail.
Before releasing him outside amongst the boysenberry brambles (where he would be safest from Nevada, our Husky, who lives to hunt small prey) I blipped him. Note the two unpopped kernels of white popcorn in the debris - they're a scale reference to his small size.

people: no man
places: Home Sweet Home
particulars: while fall vacuuming found papers in missing old briefcase

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.