Possibly the best

By Letters

Alehousehillock roadside fountain

Dated 1883 and with a with a missing spout over a stone trough this roadside drinking establishment is inscribed with some lines from Psalm 104.10

He sendeth the springs into the valleys
Of my store take thou freely
And rest thee at need
Then onward true hearted
I bid thee God Speed
But thank Him who sends me
Ere thou leavest my side
That thy water is sure
And thy bread He’ll provide.

I checked some local history sources and found an entry in James Pirie’s “The Parish of Cairnie” penned in 1906 and printed by the Banffshire Journal describing the structure as being of concrete construction with lines composed by Rev James Wilson M.A. former headmaster of the Central School.
Standing at the south side of a gentle eminence near the bridge which crosses the Burn of Cairnie, Pirie writes, the idea of erecting the fountain was initiated with the hearty support of the people in the locality.

When I asked Google who wrote Psalm 104.10 I was informed that the author was none other than the biblical King David of Israel who was seemingly known for his diverse skills as both a warrior and a writer of psalms.

Who to believe?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.